Best seller Nikon D3300 Review | Complete Buyers Guide

Nikon D3300 Review | Complete Buyers Guide

Add to compare

£339.00

Best deal on: amazon amazon.co.uk
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Lowest price Product: Nikon D3300 Digital SLR Camera (24.2 MP, AF-P 18-55VR Lens Kit, 3 inch LCD Screen) - Black - £345.00
Show all + Price history
×
Price history for Nikon D3300 Digital SLR Camera (24.2 MP, AF-P 18-55VR Lens Kit, 3 inch LCD Screen) - Black
Latest updates:
  • £345.00 - June 25, 2017
  • £339.00 - June 23, 2017
  • £349.99 - June 18, 2017
  • £339.00 - June 16, 2017
  • £349.99 - June 13, 2017
  • £359.99 - June 13, 2017
  • £349.99 - June 8, 2017
  • £314.99 - June 7, 2017
Since: May 23, 2017
  • Highest Price: £368.90 - June 4, 2017
  • Lowest Price: £314.99 - June 7, 2017
1

Nikon D3300 Review

Nikon D3300 review and full feature of this popular choice of camera branding it the best DSLR under 500 dollars (or pounds/ Euros).

Don’t be fooled by the price tag (prices starting at £300), this is a force to be reckoned with.

As you’d expect from a top brand, it certainly packs a punch in the DSLR camera department.

Weighing in at 410g and the ability to shoot amazing photographs, Nikon D3300 photos are so good you’ll want to show the grandkids. There’s a reason why this modern compact DSLR is the traveler’s choice. 

Not forget its high-definition recording feature, you’ll find more than one reason why beginners and professionals choose this go to camera in our Nikon D3300 review.

Features

In short, we have to say the Nikon D3300 is a fantastic camera. If you’re fairly new to the world of DSLR cameras, you might want to opt in for the Nikon.

The real engine and magic of the D3300 is found in its 24.2 megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor. But the clever lot at Nikon have done all of this without an optical low-pass filter (OLPF) to capture as much detail as possible in your images.

Details

And if you’re like us in that the little details are your priority when shooting, the main Nikon D3300 specs excel at producing high quality detailed colours and tones, fine intricate details such as hairs or grass. This is especially noticeable when compared with the NIKKOR lens. This means you won’t have to worry about losing image quality when cropping or editing your photos.

Want to share your photographs across your social media? Opt in for a Wireless Mobile Adapter to upload images instantly. For Nikon D3300 sample images, click here.

Sports

Shooting for sports or action? You’ll find the continuous shooting mode useful, shooting at 5fps.

Meaning you’ll capture those high speed moments you won’t forget.

For examples on shooting sports, check out what Nikon D3300 Amazon user reviews are saying.

Shooting modes

If you’re new to the DSLR field, the Nikon won’t leave you in the dark. With the option to shoot in Manual mode if preferred, you’ll find the user friendly shooting modes particularly useful.

For those wanting to get the most of their Nikon, on the dial you’ll find Guide mode which teaches you just how to set up your D3300. See it as the helpful tutor that shows up just when you need them.

Find out more information on how to use Nikon D3300 features.

Wanting to capture the whole scene? Nikon’s clever D-Movie function offers users to the option to record in Full HD (1080p) at an impressive rate of up to 60p, without loosing quality to any sound features.

Containing the standard Portrait, Landscape and Aperture shooting modes, the Nikon D3300 offers much more in the way of creativity. 13 special effects are ready (and easy) to use. From black and white capture, to retro style features, you’re creativity levels will be on overdrive.

Nikon D3300 Memory Card

What memory card do Nikon D3300 photos require for storage?

Standard SDHC Class 10 memory cards are compatible with this camera.

For more information, see what Nikon D3300 Amazon sellers are advertising in their bundles here.

Who is the Nikon D3300 for?

In short, if you’re just starting out in photography but don’t fancy paying out to upgrade any time soon, the Nikon D3300 is a top choice.

Travellers

Built for budding photographers on the road, this light 410g DSLR is an easy choice for those looking to capture moments as easy as shooting with a smartphone of point and shoot. An important feature if you’re considering the best DSLR camera for beginners who love to travel.

With more than enough ability to shoot rich, powerful masterpieces, this pocket rocket packs a powerful 24.2 MP sensor. So if you aren’t interested in editing your photo’s using Photoshop or Lightroom, you’re still able to capture breath taking photographs you’ll want to hang up on your living room wall.

Beginner Photographers

For newbie photographers dipping their feet in the wild waters of photography, we think you’ll enjoy the Auto feature found on the D3300. Leaving the pressure of reducing exposure for another day.

Upgrading from a point and shoot camera? There’s no reason why it’s been described as the best DSLR camera for beginners.

If you’re heading in the direction of something more serious, we can’t emphasise enough the amount of power and capability found in the Nikon.

Due to its small and compact design, it’s effortlessly hidden away in your handbag or carry on luggage for flights.

So if you’re a frequent traveller or like the idea of a camera on the go, we recommend trying the Nikon D3300.

Final thoughts Nikon D3300 Review

If you’re looking an upgrade from your current camera or stepping up the skill level a notch, we recommend trying the Nikon D3300.

Nikon D3300 best price is listed on this review.

What we really love about this camera is how user friendly the shooting modes are. Due to its Auto and Guide modes, you’ll find you’re a better photographer than you once thought. When we tested the camera back in January, we were able to effortlessly capture sharp, detailed photographs.

With a body weighing in at only 410g, and small enough to carry around in your handbag over the shoulder, it’s a great choice for travel lovers needing something compact. When compared with other suitable cameras, it comes up on top.

However, there are similar cameras out there that have the built in feature of wi-fi, which the Nikon D3300 does not have. With users reporting a lack in zoom features, we didn’t find this a problem. However, you do have the option of upgrading from the stock lens.

But for those wanting a user friendly DSLR that captures high quality photos, our Nikon D3300 review says it is a popular choice.

9 Total Score
Excellent First Camera

A great first choice for beginner photographers taking their pictures to the next level.

Picture Quality
9
Price
9
Ease of Use
8
Overall Score
9.5
PROS
  • User friendly Guide mode
  • 24.2 MP camera
  • Cheap
CONS
  • Stock lens is limited
  • Shooting modes are standard
  • No Wi-Fi
Add your review
Nikon D7200

Nikon D7200

Peachpit Press. 2015

Now that you’ve bought the amazing Nikon D7200, you need a book that goes beyond a tour of the camera’s features to show you exactly how to use the camera to take great pictures. With Nikon D7200: From Snapshots to Great Shots, you get the perfect blend of photography instruction and camera reference that will take your images to the next level! Beautifully illustrated with large, vibrant photos, this book teaches you how to take control of your photography to get the image you want every...

Nikon D3400 For Dummies

Nikon D3400 For Dummies

John Wiley & Sons. 2016

Discover the essentials to getting better photos with the Nikon DLSLR D3400 The Nikon D3400 hits stores as Nikon's most advanced entry-level DSLR camera. Along with the pixel power to deliver sharp images, it also offers tools to be instantly creative and quickly share photos to a smartphone. This book will get you up to speed on the D3400 in a flash—teaching you all the basic photography skills needed to get great shots from a DSLR camera, while also giving you clear, hands-on guidance...

Nikon D3300 Digital Field Guide

Nikon D3300 Digital Field Guide

John Wiley & Sons. 2014

Everything you need to know about your new N1 camera! Portable and full color, this guide is packed with everything you want and need to know in order to take amazing photos using your new Nikon Camera N1. Veteran author J. Dennis Thomas walks you through the essential controls, features, and functions of the N1 using step-by-step instructions and providing full-color images of each menu screen. You'll learn how to adjust white balance, autofocus, and exposure as well as choose lens and...

David Busch's Nikon D3300 Guide to Digital SLR Photography

David Busch's Nikon D3300 Guide to Digital SLR Photography

Cengage Learning Trade. 2014

DAVID BUSCH’S NIKON D3300 GUIDE TO DIGITAL SLR PHOTOGRAPHY is a complete resource and reference for the Nikon D3300, one of Nikon’s newest dSLR’s, featuring a 24-megapixel sensor with sharper imaging, full HDTV video, and ISO up to 12,800. With this book, you will explore the world of digital photography, develop your creativity, and learn to take great photographs with your new Nikon. Featuring clear how-to steps and full-color illustrations, this book covers all the D3300’s features in...

The Nikon D3400 with the new 18-55mm and 70-300mm AF-P lenses cannot be beat at the current price ($500). The D3400 camera body and compact and light for a DSLR. The 18-55mm lens is what you would expect from a kit lens and has VR (vibration reduction, the Nikon version of image stabilization). The 70-300mm is great for when you need more reach and is fast focusing. Nikon sells a VR version of the 70-300mm lens, however, they included a non-VR version in this package. That is disappointing, as the image stabilization would be helpful at longer zooms at slower shutter speeds. I plan to use this lens primarily for outdoor sports with faster shutter speeds, so it won't make much of a difference for me, but it would be nice to have the VR for indoor or low light outdoor situations. Also, Nikon has added software to this camera so it will not function with 3rd party batteries installed. I learned this the hard way and will be sending back the 3rd party batteries I purchased. However, I've been told that there are new 3rd party batteries that have found a way around this. I'm waiting for mine to arrive to confirm this.I've attached some sample images I took from both lenses on the D3400 from a trip to the zoo's Festival of Lights. I used the 70-300mm for most of the outdoor animals while the sun was up, then switched to the 18-55mm for indoor animals and to take pictures of the lights (using a monopod) once the sun went down.
ByJohn H - December 30, 2016
Perfect camera for getting photos of wild game and landscapes as the basis for my watercolor paintings. Easy to use, change of lenses, etc. and very good definition. I was a little disappointed that two days after my purchase the same combination of camera and lenses were on Amazon for $100 less that what I paid!!! Bob C
John H - January 11, 2017
Bought this for my wife who is a professional designer and photographer that does some photos on the side with personal equipment. Tried to spend less money but it did not go very well. This camera was EXTREMELY light. If you put any attachments on this camera the attachments weighed more than the camera and made it very unbalanced and easy to drop. The camera also did not consistently take photos when pushing the switch whether it was in an auto mode or manual.Returned this camera and bought a Nikon 7100 instead. The camera is twice the money but it is a far nicer camera. Obviously, it isn't a crazy high-end camera but for $1000 it was a very nice camera with plenty of features.
ByRobert L. Chambers - June 11, 2017

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

Register New Account
Reset Password
Compare items
  • Cameras (0)
  • Phones (0)
Compare
0